Skip to content

Can you resist the screen?

October 12, 2010

[tweetmeme source=”living_minimal” only_single=false]

Three weeks ago I started my first job as an environmental consultant. I’m loving it!  It’s a lot of experiences, new people and awesome responsibilities. It’s given me a lot of energy and is making me sleep a lot deeper and earlier. There is however one little snag in all of this. I’m behind a computer screen for at least 80% of the time.

I don’t mind being behind a screen. As a huge movie fan and former gamer I’ve had continuous days behind screens. And 6,5 hours of work related screen-time is something I can accept. It’s the extra screen-time while at home I’m worried about.

For many people the computer, or better said the internet, has become a part of the way they spend their free time. I’m no exception to that. Checking my email, news feeds, Twitter, Facebook and casual browsing will take at least an hour everyday. Combine that with the time I use for watching movies and tv-series gives me at least 3 extra hours of screen-time per day.

This gives me 9,5 hours of screen-time every Monday till Friday! That’s over 60% of the hours that I’m awake looking at a digital box. That isn’t healthy! Or in other words: I need less screen-time!

So my question to you readers is: How can you reduce your screen-time while being a movie fan who doesn’t want to commit digital suicide? I’m all ears!

Picture by VirtualErn (flickr)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jesse permalink
    October 13, 2010 18:07

    I’m probably the wrong one to comment here…I committed digital suicide months ago and haven’t looked back! Without FB and Twitter constantly vying for my attention I find myself much more relaxed and present when doing other things. As for movies, all I can suggest is limiting yourself to a certain number per week, then using some of that on the weekends to spread out the screen time. Or you could start by reading the book that the movie is based on, or watching the original…it seems to me (as a non-movie watcher) that most of what’s been coming out recently is either a book come to life or a re-make.

    Either way, enjoy your new job!

  2. October 14, 2010 09:04

    @Jesse: Thanks for your input. I’ve got one question though. How do you keep in touch with your digital community and your readers without fb or twitter?

  3. Jesse permalink
    October 14, 2010 18:29

    Well it seems that a lot of my readers didn’t make the jump to my new blog so I’m starting over on the digital community part…I find that for now comments and email work just fine. There’s just nothing I’ve found that I need, that either of those systems do any better than good ‘old fashioned’ email can’t handle just fine.

  4. Klitsie permalink
    October 23, 2010 18:35

    Gaat niet echt meer over Minimalisme he? ;)

    translation:
    This blog isn’t about minimalism anymore, is it?

  5. October 25, 2010 20:04

    @Klitsie:

    Minimalism isn’t just about getting rid of stuff. Minimalism is more like a point of view when it comes to dealing with your life. So the question how to reduce your screentime or what the best techniques are to reach your readers can be related to minimalism… At least my interpretation of minimalism ;)

Leave a Reply

