Skip to content

Self reflection is a bitch… once in a while.

June 8, 2010

image by Eli

[tweetmeme source=”living_minimal” only_single=false]This Monday I came to a saddening realization. It happened as I went to work. As the environmentally minded person that I am I go to work by train. That of course has nothing to do with the fact that I don’t have a driver’s license. As usual I pick one of the free newspapers at the entrance of the train station. Media manipulation or not, I like to be informed about the things that are playing on a national and international level.

However this Monday I didn’t get my usual brand but a different newspaper. It was a slim free version of a newspaper that you usually have to pay money for. A newspaper I knew from the times that I still lived with my parent and read their subscribed newspaper. A rather good newspaper. Being rather content with this “present” I stepped on the train and started to read it.

From the moment I laid my eyes on the first page I felt something was wrong. At first I couldn’t put my finger on it but after a couple of pages I realised it only had good news in it. Still curious though I kept read. I seemed to be right. On the last page they explained that it was a newspaper with fictional news written by a couple of environmentally conscious NGO’s. While putting away the paper I was quite upset. I was not upset that they deceived me with false articles, they were actually very nicely written. No, my inner turmoil came from the realisation that the news felt fake since it didn’t bear bad news.

Are we so accustomed to receiving bad news that good news seems like a fairy tale?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 18:13

    I understand your feelings that you had that moment. I don’t want to increase your sadness but even the bad news that reach your sense organs reach it because other people want it to reach you. Even the bad news that reach you through the mass media is selected for you.

    Bare in mind that most of the “bad” news doesn’t reach you at all or reach you transformed because someone want to, for some reason..

    “Think about possible reasons”

    BobbyG

    • June 9, 2010 23:52

      This relates to a discussion I last had. It was about how much sorrow one person can handle. We came to the conclusion that our minds are not set up to deal with the sorrows of 6+ billions humans. It is too much for anyone to handle. We need some sort of filter between us and the world. Media manipulation is sometimes not such a bad thing…

  2. Je zwager permalink
    June 18, 2010 07:38

    That was our discussion! Haha Feel free to use it.

  3. Hank Hill permalink
    July 15, 2010 05:55

    news is news, you the reader make it good or bad. to offer up the idea media manipulation is sometimes not such a bad thing is appalling. it’s the equivalent of saying “lying to mass audiences while presenting it as real news is sometimes alright”. corporations and governments don’t need another extra excuse to lie to us and if they thought that we all wanted to be willfully ignorant then there’s no reason to work to find out truth, instead just lie. instead of throwing away your dignity with wanting to be lied to so your poor feelings don’t get hurt, don’t read/watch the things that make you sad. you’re a grown fucking man, stop trying to place the burden of your poor feelings on corporations and government and look out for yourself.

  4. July 18, 2010 11:35

    @Hank: I’m sorry if I offended you with my suggestion on media manipulation. I’m not talking about telling the world untruths but a way to filter the news that a human being gets on a daily basis. I don’t know what your opinion is but I really do think that the bad stuff that happens to humankind on a daily basis is too much for one individual to handle. Choosing not to read certain articles or not watching certain newsflashes is a conscious act and therefore a less than ideal filter in my opinion. What do you think is the best way to filter the information that reaches us?

Leave a Reply

