Skip to content

Health takes time

April 25, 2010

image by End of Level Boss

[tweetmeme source=”living_minimal” only_single=false] I followed Everett Bogue’s health tips for one week. I’ve written per guideline my experience.

1. Slowing down
For me slowing down means enough sleep. So I promised myself to sleep 8 hours a day. For me this was the easiest guideline to achieve since I already did for quite some time. The trick for me is to make sure that I start my “sleeping ritual” (a cup of green tea and one chapter of a good book) early enough. If I want to wake up at 7 I start my ritual at 22:30. Then I’m certain I sleep at 11. Disconnecting is also a good tip for sleeping on time.

2. Disconnecting
This was one of the toughest things for me to do. I’m the kinda guy who wakes up and check his email before getting a cup of coffee. For the moments to disconnect I chose the meals, the moment I woke up and prior to exercising. Although it took some time to get used to I enjoyed the extra rest during those moments. Definitely something to continue in the future.

3. Take the time to begin eating right.
This is relatively easy if you have a regular schedule. You might even say that the 9-5 attitude helps to adjust to eating right. I realised that when I had a meeting somewhere else in the country and I was at home at 8 o’clock instead of 6. I did what shouldn’t have done: fast food. My body noticed it immediately the next morning. Definitely something to think about.

4. Walking to and from the (super)market
I’m a carfree student. This made this transition relatively easy. But if you wish to do this as a rule there is some planning that needs to be done. Especially the larger groceries should be planned using a car or bike.

5. Take the time to stretch
This point was the one thing that didn’t fit in regular commuting life. A regular day means being home at six. If you have to do groceries, preparing dinner, enjoying your meal and wash the dishes it is easily 8 o’clock before you can do anything else. If you still want to stretch for 1-2 hours before exercising, the actual exercise interferes with your daily amount of sleep. Stretching is still important but for a 9-5 man 30 min is I think the maximum.

6. Intense exercise
Simple. Just do it. I love to run and do yoga. Find something and just do it.

Conclusion.
If you can try them on for size. But if it doesn’t fit in your life try to sleep, eat and exercise enough.

Coming week:
I’m going on an excursion to Poland for a week. So no Twitter, Facebook or blogging for a week. I’ll try my best to pack and travel as minimalistically as possible. Till next week!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Marijke permalink
    April 28, 2010 07:53

    Hi brother,

    It sounds like a great experience. Let me know if you are able to keep up the good work. Enjoy your stay in Polen.

    Love your sister

    • May 2, 2010 09:17

      Hi sis,

      Back in the netherlands now. Had an awesome time. Made a lot of pictures. Even grew a beard ;) Will try to put something nice on my blog tonight.

  2. Je zwager permalink
    May 2, 2010 08:51

    He brother in law,

    Doesn’t Poland have the Internet?

    Ad 1: you didn’t take sex into account!

    Grtz, Lau

    • May 2, 2010 09:13

      Yes. Ofcourse Poland has internet. Only I didn’t have internet in Poland. Just crossed the border at venlo a moment ago. Back on the digital highway!

      About your comment: maybe we should stretch before doing such intens exercise. ;)

  3. June 3, 2010 20:09

    Hi Martijn,

    your first step into living minimalistic life is inspirational. Why?

    Simply because it’s been 2 months that I am reading about how to “become a minimalist” a lot.

    Your article gave me interesting point of view from the guy, who starts with that. Thanks for it!

    I am really excited to read the other steps towards your aim, to become a minimalist guy.

    — Jan

    • June 3, 2010 21:37

      Hi Jan,

      Thanks for reading my blog! It is really inspiring to hear you say that. How far are you yourself with introducing minimalism into your life?

      • June 3, 2010 22:51

        How far am I?

        To be honest, I am in the phase of reading and gaining info about from the people, you are mostly following in your “Awesome Blogs” links.

        What I have done, managed till now?

        Not much really, actually the first step was to clean my desk from the stuff that only steal the place there, mainly books that were important for my thesis for the university. So I moved it back to a library. Next step is about that I’ve realized that is bad to eat after 9 PM.

        Nearest action plans goes mainly into to the technical steps:
        – to sell unimportant piece of PC hardware that are hidden in my cabinets.
        – toss up papers that are in my room, scan them into PC – go to digital form :)
        – delete all files that are the past and I do not use them anymore (I believe quicker way would be to save files I need and delete all HDD by formating it)

        Next steps?
        Firstly need to think over, what would be the area to focus on, to create it more minimalistic.

        Still have lot of to read to get inspired.

        P.S. Love the theme, great fonts and simple design.

  4. June 3, 2010 23:41

    @Jan: Congrats on your first steps. The first steps are always the toughest. Try to compartmentalise your room/house/closet when it comes to decluttering. Take that little part and do it as fast as possible. Good luck and have fun on your own minimalistic journey!

    • June 3, 2010 23:56

      Thanks a lot.

      Same wishes to you, have fun with the writing to the blog and lot of energy during your minimalistic journey!

Leave a Reply

